Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 04, 2004 - 7:29 pm

I spend ten months of the year wishing I wasn't so damned busy and that I had more time and less stress. Now that I have this two months free of school, I wonder if I'm not worse off. At the end of the day I have empty hours to fill however I may please before I must go back to work.

And work...few things are less inspiring than spending your hours cataloging books on fertility patterns and labor force participation trends (which aren't always in English, of course).

But before you get the impression that I'm whining, let me get to the real "thrust" of my entry- Lost in Translation.

With all this spare time of mine I find three things happening much more often than usual: (1) I watch movies, (2) I drink, and (3) Though I really do not desire "company" and all the ballyhoo that goes with spending your time entertaining yourself and another person, I get lonely.

The long and short of it is that my resistance to proper social interaction leads me to do the first two things much more often, and to waste time in ricockulous ways as my summer slips away. There aren't many people that I really feel like hanging with at those times.

Where is the Bill Murray to my Scarlett Johansson? I have friends with whom I share that special ability to enjoy the most comfortable of silences, that strange chemistry that allows you to both do your own thing in the same room and not really feel you have to do anything other than that. These are the people that understand what you're saying, even when you barely make sense to yourself. And if I can't be esoteric, what am I, really?

Or maybe I just want some older dude to give me advice on life and lavish me with attention when I'm lonely so that he can deal with his midlife crisis and we can sing in karaoke bars in Tokyo. In fact, I'm not even sure I need the old dude or Tokyo, I would just settle for the karaoke bar and the japanese people.

In other news: I have an insatiable appetite for pepperoni and mushroom pizza. Dominos should have some sort of preferred customer program, with punch cards or something. I'd save so much cash.



has-beens...up-and-comers

autographs

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!