Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

April 10, 2006 - 2:50 pm

Lately my head is absolutely bursting with ideas about things to research for my thesis. If only I could narrow it down...

Last night during the open mic a guy invoke the image of a "magical black woman," I think partly as a way to get the attention of the audience, which, unlike he, was mostly black, and largely female. Whatever his intentions, it made me think of that strange domestic mysticism that digs right under my nails when I see the archetype in books or film. Do you know the one I'm talking about? The magical black man or woman on the periphery who somehow, by virtue of not being like everyone else, understands the world in a way that other characters can only hope. I'm gonna jump off my soapbox now, but it's difficult for me...please understand that.

In other news: Kim's cat is weird shapes. She just is. It's like she swallowed a bunch of toddler toys or something. She sags in weird places and has funny eyes and I just can't shake the thought that she tries to steal my breath when I sleep.



has-beens...up-and-comers

autographs

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!