Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

July 28, 2005 - 12:17 pm

Hello, faithless readers. It's time for another edition of "Things That Are True About Megan," to be followed shortly thereafter by other randomness, some ranting and very little sense...

Things that are true:

  • I've never taken a taxicab anywhere...ever.
  • I like maple syrup with my sausage links.
  • I have very small hands.
  • I think there's an addictive quality to tacos that grows stronger after midnight.
  • I generally dislike talking on the phone.
  • Warm summer rain makes me fall in love with being alive.
  • I think that roses smell like ass.
  • The left side of my body is markedly slower, physically, than the right-hence my inability to play guitar.
  • I really (REALLY) like making lists.

I've been pretty good at keeping with my whole "play it by ear" mantra. However, I DO know that no matter how cool you try to play it (ICE COLD!), sometimes things come up that threaten to cause stress. Zen Megan has been supertuff lately, so for the most part I've been able to keep things stable, but it's led to a few tummyaches while Freakout Megan made attempts at control. Overall, I've been pretty good at taking a step back (even while fighting nausea), thinking things through, and forming a good battle plan for dealing with any situation that might arise.

For example, I've been thinking about certain emotions and my ability to handle them. Given I can maintain this awesome control of things, I'm pretty sure it should be my policy to phaseout jealousy, since I'm pretty sure the whole emotion is an exercise in futility as far as my personal philosophy goes. Also, I'm gonna try to limit anger, while frustration is going to stay right where it is, thank you very much, as my healthy negative outlet. If there's one thing I've learned in the last five years, it's that you can't make people treat you better. You can, however, stop them from treating you at all by removing yourself from the situation. My current stance on things is that it's not worth my effort to pull someone aside and confront them everytime they're a jerk...I'd rather just deprive them of Megancompany and take note of their behavior for future reference. I think I've spent too much time in the past reacting to people and expecting them to react to my reaction. Meh to that. Let 'em be however they want...I just might not stick around to witness it.

Anyhow, yesterday I woke up with some things on the brain, and decided that the perspective I needed had to come from the outside. Quite specifically, I felt that the path to clarity involved sitting on Lauren's back porch and drinking tea while she offered her opinions. I called her up and she was happy to offer such insight. Afterwards we treated ourselves and I got my first manicure/pedicure at Happy Nails. Shit, I can paint my own nails, but it's worth every penny to sit in a massage chair while skinny asians fiddle with your extremities.

Sometimes I'm incapable of dealing with things correctly until I can sit and think through them just because I need to do so to attain the right level of calm. I mean, you know me, right? My mind is a fucking mess of shit to get tripped up on, distracted by, and generally messed up over. I'm gonna try to keep up this path of reason and calm through the end of the summer, see if it works out. If so, I smell life change!

Anyhow, today is only beginning...Kim and I are going to watch movies before work, then Nat and Lauren and I are going to make San Francisco chicken and alcoholic milkshakes for the end of the night. In the meantime, I'll raise my phantom glass to you, dear reader. So far the sky is bright and the birds are singing. Here's to hoping it stays that way.



has-beens...up-and-comers

autographs

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!