Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

July 05, 2005 - 5:45 pm

Thing that is true: I like adventuring.

In any form, really, a good adventure will just make my day. Sometimes it means climbing things, trespassing, and light theivery, while other times it means scheming, lies, and perhaps some dancing. It can happen inside or outside, with or without great intrigue or expenditure of energy, but it's always fun. Yay to those who make it happen.

Kim and I ran around the East coast on a whirlwind tour, and when we got back people asked us if we'd see X, Y, or Z touristy thing.

Nope. Prolly not.

We walked AROUND the block with the Liberty Bell (if I can't ring it, I'm just not interested) and saw the Statue of Liberty from the freeway while commenting, "That's as close as I wanna get to that monstrosity." We drove around DC's greatest monuments, but were much more interested in finding out hotel.

We did, however, visit the Strand book store, get destructively drunk in Dupont Circle, buy pretty skirts, and visit museums that made us vomit and cry. We did eat cheesesteaks in a small diner owned by a Korean family in downtown Philly and read books in Central Park. We did see two pigeons fight, and the victor mount the other's back to spread his wings. We did see Laura Cantrell in a small club in the the Historic district under the guise of false identities and befriend her opening act with stories that were absolutely, positively not true. We also attempted to find one of the oldest breweries in the country, so that we could follow in the footsteps of our forefathers and plan a Megalution in the basement.

We DID get some pictures, but not many. Whoops.

In other news: Karen had a pirate party the other night, so I rented a costume and off we went. There was much grog and shenanigans. Yesterday I finished off a perfect weekend by hosting a barbecue featuring a gauntlet of happy foods, from salsa burgers to teriyaki kabobs. Kim brought one of her many British friends, and I offered him 5 portraits of George Washington to sit, draped in the American Flag, with a sign around his neck saying "The Conquered Brit." He declined.

Also: Paul and I are attempting to reduce scheming to a science for fun and profit. This includes: Much planning, recon in the men's bathroom, beer and The Clash.



has-beens...up-and-comers

autographs

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!