Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 30, 2004 - 6:25 pm

There are many things about my life that I love-one of those things in particular is my job. Truth be told, I got it made. The bullshit I deal with in a month is minimal compared to what the average food service worker is handed every day they clock in. But this time of the year, it just sucks to be me.

It's fall, which means a number of things. First, it means semester change. Second, it means SSDAN-folk who took the summer off are moving back. Third, it means my boss is moving into a new apartment. Any of these things on their own amounts to a tiny bit of stress. Together, they necessitate a "to do" list to keep everything in order. But thrown in with student teaching and 10-15 hours spent commuting, I'm about ready to claw my eyes out every time a new detail comes up.

Example? I spent my weekend and this afternoon running around to make sure that all the details for my boss' move in and the first day of his class were taken care of. I even shrugged it off when he sent me an email asking me to re-do the pile of syllabi I'd already prepared because he caught a mistake he'd missed the first time he proofread it. Then he emailed again to ask me to change a citation and, oh yeah, see if he'd ordered the right book from the class.

Eight days. Classes start in eight fucking days. Jeebus.

In related news, I've had two people in the last few days basically tell me I'm mean, or a heartless bitch, or what have you. This is not true. It IS true that I'm a jerk. And, as Stacey pointed out, I have no tact. In the end the people that matter agree that I'm not an asshole, so consequently, if you think I'm an asshole, you might not matter. Please adjust your reactions accordingly. Thank you.

Yes, I DO know that I'm going to Hell. Why do you ask?

Anyhow, enough of that. I'm just tired and irritable, so I'm going to impose the Thumper Rule for a bit until I'm ready to deal with people and treat them fairly and not be a complete bitch to the entire population.

Or I'm going to make myself a drink, go back to work, and get on with my day.



has-beens...up-and-comers

autographs

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!