Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

October 22, 2004 - 3:27 pm

Heh...I guess it's about time I check in, so here goes:

Teaching is...well, it just is. Some days I feel like a complete champ and want to come jogging out of the school singing "Eye of the Tiger" or something. Of course, some days I'm doing all I can to avoid either stabbing someone to death with the sheer pointiness of my hatred, or bursting into tears. Or both.

The last two months have been such a trial of my self-efficacy, but I've learned a helluva lot. Let's go down the list, shall we?

Things I've learned in the last few months:

  • Teenagers are eating machines. Even the ones with eating disorders can pack away more than their collegiate counterparts.
  • Teachering is a performance art. Unfortunately, I am and have always been a shitty actress.
  • If there were awards for napping, Rip Van Winkle and I would be tied for the top honors.
  • My cat is a shitty backup alarm clock.
  • I CAN drive in my sleep, but only on the highway.
  • I am not cool.
  • At any given time, I am probably learning a valuable lesson. Especially if I feel I am not.
  • And last but not least, everyone loves Vonnegut. Even kids that don't like to read. And especially when he talks about Nazis.

So yeah. Another thing I've learned is that I have a propensity for dealing with the stresses of everyday life by hiding, physically. I'm not talking about some psychobabble hoobajoob defense mechanism where I wear an emotional mask and all that nonsense...I mean I literally hide. My room rocks. Unfortunately, I've come to like it so much that I've picked up a "fuck 'em. If they wanted to hang, they'd call" attitude towards damned most everyone but good ol' Stacey Jane...and only because she checks on me occasionally and brings me Taco Bell.

Maybe I'd love you more if YOU brought me Taco Bell. *eyes "you"*

Oh yeah, and we're gathering at our place on November 2nd to watch the votes come in and celebrate democracy in it's most American form: questionable popular vote results and the victory of the electoral college's choice candidate.

Let freedom buy me a burrito.



has-beens...up-and-comers

autographs

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!