Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

November 29, 2002 - 11:19 am

So, about that Turkey Day business...GOOD TIMES. I arrived at Lauren and Karen's expecting to find a kitchen full of people and myself late for this madness (as is usually the case at my sister's), but when they said "We'll begin cooking at 1" that actually meant that that was when the turkey was going in, so by 2, when I got there, we were in the middle of the long wait that occurs before the turkey is done and we can start making everything else. Sean brought over a DVD of Spongebob Squarepants cartoons and we watched them for a long time. I fell asleep (blame it on the turkey fumes), so when Tabi finally showed up without her contribution (it had burned) I offered to go with her to get more casserole-makin's so we could make another one. Good idea

End result was a lot of good food and laughter. Chris made war with a turkey leg, which was all good fun, and we set out on our "eating goals," (Mine involved another helping of stuffing, and crescent rolls). Afterwards, Sean cranked out The Boondock Saints for those who hadn't seen it, and we all enjoyed our collective favorite flick.

In the end, I went home feelin' kinda empty, like I was leaving everything good in that apartment. Sad, eh? Well, I dropped by Haney's on the way home to get the keycard, and I found him and Bart playing Metroid and talkinga bout how sad their Thanksgiving was (neither spent it with family). This made me feel worse, but then I remembered that, "HEY, neither of these fuckers called me, I could ahve helped. Fuck 'em." We exchanged high fives and the night was officially over.

This holiday thing is really fucking up my sense of time.

Today is Friday, but from the moment I woke up I could have sworn it was Saturday. Coming into town, you'd think so. There are so many parking spots open (at 11am!) and the building is empty, I feel like I'm coming into work on a Sunday or something.

As a result, I have made a promise to myself. You see, I cannot sit here for 8 hours and do things as they come up, but on the other hand, I can't put in a half day and really expect my paycheck to NOT suffer...so...I'm gonna sit here and work like the dickens to get as many things done as possible. If my superproductive behavior happens to run my list of things to do (which is not a small one, mind you) down to the bottom, I'll be completely justified in leaving before 7pm. If not, I guess I'll just have to stay until it's done.

I'm taking note of this so I'll be less likely to punk out and leave at 7pm, which would be a bad idea in the long run. My being sick earlier this week really fucked my productivity, and I should catch up today.

The question is, can I do it?



has-beens...up-and-comers

autographs

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!