Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

September 23, 2002 - 5:25 pm

So, today I decided to drop into a few stores, because (a) I kinda need more clothes (my tendency to be way too hard on my clothes, mixed with the fact that I only buy an item or two at a time lead to a lot of strain on my wardrobe) and (b) I REALLY need a jacket. So, I took a moment to think of my finances, and of the things that I need to spend money on in the next month or two, and I realized something....

I'm a podunk motherfucker.

I mean, we won't even get into my overall debt (sChOOL!), but Criminey, I almost always have a huge credit card balance...and every time it goes over a certain limit, I really strap down and start back on my ramen and ravioli diet. However, even when I knock my everyday spending to like $50 a week or something, I fall into a period where once or twice a week I'm forced to spend $50-200 on something or another (doc visits, car repairs, clothes, school shit, etc.) So, I compiled the list of shit I need to pay off if I want to take those Karate classes in good conscience, and it turns out I need to free up anywhere from $400 to $1000 pretty quickly if I want to do this in the next month. Damn me.

I considered getting another job, but then I realized that I need sleep, and I need to study, and at least ONCE a week I need to do something other than that or work. All in all, it doesn't leave me with a more than maybe one 8-hour period free for another job. I could work more here, but Bill would kill me for draining the budget so. Also, to get another job so quickly, I'd prolly have to go back to the world of polo shirts and baseballs caps, which I swore I'd never see again. So there that goes.

I considered options for quick cash, such as: stripping at amateur nights, selling my belongings, and doing various favors for my pimp friends (you think I'm joking, don't you?), but none of these are options I'm all that keen on. I think I'll keep them on the back burner until I get to the "I can't pay my bills" level of debt. Luckily, I'm not there...yet.

Anyhow, I dealt with this as I do all financial anxiety, I got out a pen and paper and wrote out a budget that doesn't really help me, (since I already follow it). Still, to see the totals in front of me and a basic idea of what I'm doing with my next 235 paychecks somehow calms me.

On a lighter note,I'm driving with Mike tonight to visit his parents, whom I still haven't met. I'm geeked cuz, hey, they spawned a trio of Haneys, they must be neat, right? Well, I guess not, I mean...I came from MY parents...but still, I'll go on probability here and be happy about all this. This week's pretty damned busy, so back to work for me (*crack of whip*) OW!



has-beens...up-and-comers

autographs

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!