Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

September 15, 2002 - 10:20 pm

SONOFABITCH!

I just added a big long entry on my gift-giving dilemma...and I lost it. Damnit!

So, I'll sum it up as best I can.

1-Many birthday's this month. One of them is Haney's. This creates problems because I always put myself under pressure to get the best gift possible, and with Haney, finding ANYTHING is a challenge.

2-Last year, Stacey and I spent $200 on his gift: An easel, a gift certificate for art supplies, and an "autographed," framed 8X10 glossy of Vanilla Ice. Nice. This year, the cash flow isn't so great, and Stacey's content to just buy him dinner, so unless I find a great gift under $40, I'll be bearing the bill with my own meager checkbook.

3-Haney is not only very self-indulgent, but makes 3X more cheddah than yours truly. So, from CDs/DVD/games/etc to the random piece of expensive consumer electronics, he generally buys himself everything he wants. If there is something he would like, that I can afford, he probably has it.

What does this all mean? It means that my mission, should I choose to accept it, is to find one of two things: (1)something that Haney wants, but has yet to get around to buying. Downfall to this is that if he hasn't bought it yet, but it's cheap enough for me to afford, than he probably doesn't want it THAT much. or...(2) something that he WOULD want, were he to really think about it. Of course, the problem with this is not only thinking of this mystical object, but to find it, afford it, and then take the overall chance that he WILL like it, or that he'll like it TONS...because he already has it.

So, I've got my work cut out for me. It is currently T-21 days. Wish me luck.



has-beens...up-and-comers

autographs

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!