Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

August 08, 2002 - 10:31 am

I R Nerd.

It's kinda sad to admit this, but I'm really looking forward to going back to school. Not that I anticipate very interesting classes (I'm taking two classes on the history of the english language, for chrissakes!), but I just really miss learning on a daily basis. The most recent manifestation of this need has been my insatiable urges to learn every adobe product in the office (I'm getting there...slowly) and reanimate my once meager knowledge of web design. Not that any of this has really led to anything brilliant coming from me, but at least I'm doing more with my brain than I was 3 weeks ago. I've also had these fleeting urges to learn several other things. For example, I've thought of picking up a few languages in a my spare time. Most notably portuguese, maybe another shot at Italian. I even, for about 5 minutes, checked out a site on Kanji, but I woke up from that unreality REAL fast. I've also considered learning to sew, and taking a class in ballroom dancing. All this because I've taken 2 1/2 months off from school- the same amount of time any high school student takes (though it never seemed enough back then) for their summer vacation. The only realistic motivation I've gathered from this time was my increase in writing exercises. For a while, I was actually spending many evenings at the Rendezvous with a few notebooks and a pen or two, putting down ideas so that I wouldn't forget how to when I started taking good classes again.

Thought: I'm gonna miss having so much time to read books. Not to say I won't get to read come September...but I like being able to choose what I read now, and past experience has shown me that during school, it's best to stick to magazines in what free time I do find.

Random: My roommate is addicted to buying shoes. She has so many that I don't recognize half of them when she leaves them near hte door-I always assume she had company that somehow forgot their proper footwear when they left.

BTW: I have a guestbook, people! I took the 23 seconds to link to it, the least you can do is fill it with random ballyhoo from time to time, neh?

Just a note: Steven Soderbergh REIGNS. I'd like to submit People's Exhibit G: Full Frontal. I rest my case.



has-beens...up-and-comers

autographs

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!