Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

September 03, 2002 - 12:21 pm

First day of class...The only one I had today was "History of English". Dear God, what have I gotten myself into? The sad, sad thing is, it doesn't sound that bad. I mean, I LIKE linguistics. This proves that I am 100%, pure, grade A NERD, as clearly, no one BUT would enjoy this arena. Ex. During roll call, we were asked to give, not only our name, but our favorite word. The sad thing is, I already have one. However, for fear of offending, I blurted out "copious" instead, a subtle nod to Bill "big fucking vocabulary" Abresch, RIP (Okay, so he's not really dead...but he's really far away). Anyhow, I will now take a moment to pay homage to my TRULY favorite word: Fuck. It's great. It's expressive, it rolls right off the tongue, and most of all, it's VERSATILE! It can be used anywhere in the english language. I could take the time to list out my proof, but I'm sure if you think about it for a second, you can figure it out on your own.

Anyhow, enough of that. Another thing I'm coming to remember is how EVERYONE is around the first week of classes. Ex. I saw three people from my spring lit class, and two coworkers within an hour of walking near the diag. And the Diag, oh, what a place. Of course, all summer it had various groups asking passerby to fill out forms, but it was usually only one group at a time, and therefore, they were easy to avoid. Now, they have a group for each corner, or at least they will until mid-September. At least the E3W people are back to give me cheap campus entertainment.

That's all for now....



has-beens...up-and-comers

autographs

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!