Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

October 30, 2002 - 11:44 am

So I found out yesterday that my great-grandfather (known in the Corbin Matriarchy as "papa") was in the cavalry in WWI.

"Why does this matter?" you may be asking yourself, or your neighbor, or a loved one over an uncomfortable phone call that should have been made a week ago...Well, this matters because this opens up a new cache of money for ME: The veteran scholarships! In fact, so happens UofM offers a $4,000 scholarship (though only 10 of them a year...slim pickin's) to direct blood descendants of WWI veterans. Yay Papa!

In the meantime, I need to prove this. I have my birth certificate, as does my grandmother (for whatever reason, she carries it in her wallet-*?*), the gap here is my mother. HOPEfully, my grandmother, who, like my boss, NEVER throws anything away, will have a copy of my mother's birth certificate. However, she might have handed it over to HER daughter when she "came of age," much like my mother did for me (Though the words "Here, don't LOSE this," were probably no part of the exchange). My quest, should I choose to accept it, is to figure out some way to acquire a copy of my mom's birth certificate without any help from my bitchwhorecuntmother. As she has proven before, she'd much rather suck tuna salad out of her fat husband's ass than help me afford school, so asking her for help with this just isn't an option.

*crosses fingers* Grandma, your emaciated little nugget self is my only hope. Don't let me down now!



has-beens...up-and-comers

autographs

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!